FAQ’s > Tax FAQs

Tax FAQs

What happens if I do not pay my Dyking Taxes?

A 10% penalty will be applied to outstanding Dyking Taxes after December 31st. Taxes and penalty are transferred to an arrears account in the year that follows. Arrears are subject to monthly interest charges beginning in March of the following year continuing until the tax is paid. Taxes overdue after 12 months will be transferred to a delinquent account. Taxes overdue after 24 months will be transferred to a Third Year Delinquent account, and if not paid, the respective property may be offered for Tax Sale in that year.

2015 > Current >
2016 > Arrears > 12 months overdue
2017 > Delinquent > 24 months overdue
2018 > Eligible for Tax Sale

Will my mortgage company pay my Dyking Taxes?

No. Your mortgage company will not pay your Dyking Taxes, even if they do pay your property taxes.

What should I do if my mailing address changes?

Please Contact Us and also notify BC Assessment
You may require information from your property tax notice.

What is the Dyking Tax?

The Dyking Tax is a tax implemented to monitor, maintain and upgrade the flood protection works that have been developed since the mid 1940’s by the Federal and Provincial Governments. The work includes management of approx 40km of Dykes, 20 km of Rip Rap, 25 km of drainage ditches, 32 ”Flood boxes” and gravel management at various locations in the valley.

For more detailed information on maintenance activities, please refer to the Flood Protection section.

In addition to the maintenance, monitoring and upgrading, the Dyking District is responsible for an office in the Village of Pemberton, a works yard in the Industrial Park, two gravel pits that are used to supply material for maintenance and upgrade projects and a variety of equipment including an excavator.

The Dyking District is composed of two full time staff and a 5 member Board of Trustees.

How can I pay my dyking taxes?

You can pay your dyking taxes by cheque, cash or online through your bank. Please write your BCAA Folio Account Number on your cheque. The nine digit number is located in the top right corner of your Tax Notice (include prefix “F”). This is also your account number when paying online. You can find the Pemberton Valley Dyking District listed under property taxes in your banks list of payees. Please ensure your payment is directed to the Pemberton Valley Dyking District and not the Village of Pemberton.

How is dyking assessed and taxed?

The Dyking Tax is based on the BC Property Assessment Value. A mill rate per $1,000 of assessed property value is applied. The most common mill rates for 2016 are as follows:

Residential and Farm $ 0.70
Commercial $ 1.72

To calculate the dyking tax:

If the total assessed value of a residential property is $200,500 multiply 200.5 x .70 = $140.35
The calculation for a commercial property with the same assessed value is 200.5 × 1.72 = $344.86

The 2016 Minimum Tax = $167.00

When should I pay my Dyking Taxes?

Dyking Taxes are considered due upon receipt, however you have till December 31st of the taxation year to pay without penalty. A 10% penalty will be applied to outstanding balances after December 31st.


© 2018 Copyright. Pemberton Valley Dyking District. All Rights Reserved.

Web Design & Development by: Vibe9 Design